Token Attempt: Informing the Public with Visuals

High-Resolution Image: Meet the Chapter

During my time at Roger Williams University, I have designed various infographic images to alert Roger Williams University students of many events on the school’s campus. As a member of the Delta Sigma Pi Professional Business Fraternity – Nu Sigma chapter at Roger Williams University, myself, along with other members of the fraternity, especially those on the marketing committee, have many opportunities to advertise the events we put on. Each semester, the fraternity puts on a handful of professional conferences, fundraising events, and community service events for fraternity members and other business students to attend. Nearly all of these events are advertised on the chapter’s Instagram account. Through this, I have helped to design many of the advertisements for these events. I have attached the links to these designs below, along with a link to an image of myself at one of the events.

Since there are so many designs, I will focus on the most recent one: the Meet the Chapter post from 16 September 2019. The poster design decision that I thought was interesting was my choice to feature a book and eye glasses in the background. I felt this created a studious theme that was appropriate for the beginning of the semester. Further, it attracts the audience the fraternity is looking for: hardworking students who value their performance in school. Other than that design decision, I chose a very simple and straightforward with font with only the essential information: the what, when, and where of the event. Next time, I might choose to include some images of current fraternity members engaging in the fraternity’s various social events. I feel that these images would attract more students since they show the fun that fraternity members have.

To increase immediate understanding and appeal, in the future I would post the advertisement in the Gabelli School of Business lounge so that prospective business students see it. I would also ask fraternity members to post the advertisement on their personal social media accounts and explain the fraternity’s goals in order to gain more awareness.

The first link below is for the Meet the Chapter post. The rest of the links are a gallery of various designs featured on the Delta Sigma Pi Instagram account. Thank you for reading and thank you for a great semester!

https://www.instagram.com/p/BY4PAt-n3oZ/

A photograph of me: https://www.instagram.com/p/BfRF-QcnbM_/

Published by edlovely

Global HR-IT Business/Data Analyst at IBM

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started